Polarhome


Polarhome

Info


Username: polarhome
Description: polarhome.com is a non commercial, educational effort for popularization of shell enabled operating systems and Internet services, offering shell accounts, development environment, mail and other online services on all available systems (currently on different flavours of Linux, OpenVMS, Solaris, OpenIndiana, AIX, QNX, IRIX, HP-UX, Tru64, SCO OpenServer, UnixWare, FreeBSD, OpenBSD, NetBSD, DragonFly/BSD, MirBSD, Ultrix, Minix, GNU Hurd and OPENSTEP ).rnrnSince year 2000, polarhome.com became a demo site for Linux power and other Unix like systems popularization; unique multi-platform open source development realm and symbol for online freedom, feelings and other activities.rnrn####FEATURES#### 30+ servers to choose from, IPv4/IPv6 access, 250+Mbps uplink, IRC, valid ident response with oidentd, eggdrop, 10 bg jobs, screen, own home page space, PHP, perl and python CGI, MySQL database, POP3 IMAP and webmail, telnet ssh and ftp access, Usermin admin panel, C/C++ and many other compilers
URL: http://www.polarhome.com/
Category: Free Shells
Member Since: 2009-11-29

Average Rating: 5 / 5
Number of Ratings: 110
5/5

Reviews


2016-12-28 23:14:19
Not Free at all, for shell access, please change label to paid shell, obviously its usefull becuz it has a lot of os but still misleading, its not free

2016-07-28 21:15:57
This is not just a way to get a shell account - for any developer wanting to compile and test on an a wide range of Unix(-like) system this is the *only* way. Thanks Zoltán!

2016-05-15 18:31:05
I really like this service as tries to provide free service for all with the aim for free educative tool for all societies.
It tries to balance the amount of knowledge in world.
It's really good tool specially for poor ppl of world (like my country) who are not wealthy enough to buy such systems :)

God Bless them

2015-12-05 00:40:50
Only one with cheap AIX and HP-UX shell

2015-05-23 20:24:06
Amazing, how many different systems are online?

2015-05-13 08:20:04
I love reading man pages for all those exotic operating systems. Wonder where have they collect them all?

2015-03-27 12:29:30
Seems, polarhome provides not just the biggest diversity of shell access systems, but the larges collection of man pages too. I have counted more than 50 operating systems. Great job, guys.

2014-10-28 19:35:57
I love this website - its so usefull and helpfull.

2014-09-30 14:21:01
The whole classroom can get accounts on any server. These guys are crazy :) The best shell on the net.

2014-09-16 13:13:22
I have been a member for several years and I have always received the support I needed from the community. I am quite happy with it.

2014-06-13 10:36:04
I am impressed by the amount of help and documtation pages. The site not just provides shell access for the developers but it is a fantastic place to learn some new operating system.

2014-05-22 16:41:02
Amazing, how many different systems are online

2014-03-30 20:40:45
30+ different systems online - it is simply amazing.

2011-09-06 18:18:33
3 weeks or so ago their site was up and I sent them the required 10 local currency units (gbp10) last week with the application form and now their site is down. I hope that gbp10 hasn't just gone down the swanee.

2010-12-21 01:41:31
Maybe the 2USD may seem "not free" but for having access to this range of operating systems, well it is 'free' for me. Good choice IMHO.

2010-04-07 03:26:25
Unfortunatelly you need to donate at least 2 USD for registering for the "free" service.
In this manner, its not a free provider anymore.

(Dear Webmaster, please remove this provider from the list, if its possible, since literally its not a free one anymore.)

2009-12-01 15:12:03
It is possible to get free online access to UNIX or to OpenVMS

Rate and Review This Site
Show All Reviews

Stats

Daily Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 415.2 597.5 0.1 0.1 0.9 0.9
Today 236 336 0 0 0 0
Yesterday 499 763 0 0 0 0
February 23 464 600 0 0 2 2
February 22 492 767 0 0 1 1
February 21 255 420 0 0 1 1
February 20 271 382 0 0 2 2
February 19 450 572 0 0 2 2
February 18 487 663 1 1 0 0
February 17 503 664 0 0 0 0
February 16 495 808 0 0 1 1
Highest 1,501 3,136 5 10 38 140
Weekly Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 2,564.5 3,540.0 0.9 0.9 5.6 14.5
This Week 1,691 2,466 0 0 3 3
Last Week 2,885 4,186 3 3 10 12
Week 06 3,013 4,019 0 0 5 6
Week 05 3,338 4,550 0 0 4 4
Week 04 3,006 4,045 2 2 8 8
Week 03 2,857 3,986 0 0 6 6
Week 02 2,812 3,828 2 2 4 5
Week 01 2,599 3,494 1 1 1 1
Week 53 1,900 2,639 1 1 9 94
Week 52 1,544 2,187 0 0 6 6
Highest 3,903 12,142 15 38 106 311
Monthly Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 10,630.3 15,242.9 3.4 3.5 72.6 97.1
This Month 10,927 15,221 3 3 22 25
Last Month 11,881 16,240 6 6 19 20
December 20 10,901 15,240 1 1 41 141
November 20 11,684 17,332 4 4 22 106
October 20 10,742 16,201 3 3 85 93
September 20 8,957 12,612 3 3 102 113
August 20 9,226 12,633 3 3 109 125
July 20 10,383 14,734 2 2 113 122
June 20 10,044 14,761 3 3 96 103
May 20 11,558 17,455 6 7 117 123
Highest 15,544 41,395 54 134 379 914
Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Overall 851,968 1,304,745 753 977 16,617 28,518