Polarhome


Polarhome

Info


Username: polarhome
Description: polarhome.com is a non commercial, educational effort for popularization of shell enabled operating systems and Internet services, offering shell accounts, development environment, mail and other online services on all available systems (currently on different flavours of Linux, OpenVMS, Solaris, OpenIndiana, AIX, QNX, IRIX, HP-UX, Tru64, SCO OpenServer, UnixWare, FreeBSD, OpenBSD, NetBSD, DragonFly/BSD, MirBSD, Ultrix, Minix, GNU Hurd and OPENSTEP ). Since year 2000, polarhome.com became a demo site for Linux power and other Unix like systems popularization; unique multi-platform open source development realm and symbol for online freedom, feelings and other activities. ####FEATURES#### 30+ servers to choose from, IPv4/IPv6 access, 250+Mbps uplink, IRC, valid ident response with oidentd, eggdrop, 10 bg jobs, screen, own home page space, PHP, perl and python CGI, MySQL database, POP3 IMAP and webmail, telnet ssh and ftp access, Usermin admin panel, C/C++ and many other compilers
URL: http://www.polarhome.com/
Category: Free Shells
Member Since: 2009-11-29

Average Rating: 5 / 5
Number of Ratings: 88
5/5

Reviews


2016-12-28 23:14:19
Not Free at all, for shell access, please change label to paid shell, obviously its usefull becuz it has a lot of os but still misleading, its not free

2016-07-28 21:15:57
This is not just a way to get a shell account - for any developer wanting to compile and test on an a wide range of Unix(-like) system this is the *only* way. Thanks Zoltán!

2016-05-15 18:31:05
I really like this service as tries to provide free service for all with the aim for free educative tool for all societies.
It tries to balance the amount of knowledge in world.
It's really good tool specially for poor ppl of world (like my country) who are not wealthy enough to buy such systems :)

God Bless them

2015-12-05 00:40:50
Only one with cheap AIX and HP-UX shell

2015-05-23 20:24:06
Amazing, how many different systems are online?

2015-05-13 08:20:04
I love reading man pages for all those exotic operating systems. Wonder where have they collect them all?

2015-03-27 12:29:30
Seems, polarhome provides not just the biggest diversity of shell access systems, but the larges collection of man pages too. I have counted more than 50 operating systems. Great job, guys.

2014-10-28 19:35:57
I love this website - its so usefull and helpfull.

2014-09-30 14:21:01
The whole classroom can get accounts on any server. These guys are crazy :) The best shell on the net.

2014-09-16 13:13:22
I have been a member for several years and I have always received the support I needed from the community. I am quite happy with it.

2014-06-13 10:36:04
I am impressed by the amount of help and documtation pages. The site not just provides shell access for the developers but it is a fantastic place to learn some new operating system.

2014-05-22 16:41:02
Amazing, how many different systems are online

2014-03-30 20:40:45
30+ different systems online - it is simply amazing.

2011-09-06 18:18:33
3 weeks or so ago their site was up and I sent them the required 10 local currency units (gbp10) last week with the application form and now their site is down. I hope that gbp10 hasn't just gone down the swanee.

2010-12-21 01:41:31
Maybe the 2USD may seem "not free" but for having access to this range of operating systems, well it is 'free' for me. Good choice IMHO.

2010-04-07 03:26:25
Unfortunatelly you need to donate at least 2 USD for registering for the "free" service.
In this manner, its not a free provider anymore.

(Dear Webmaster, please remove this provider from the list, if its possible, since literally its not a free one anymore.)

2009-12-01 15:12:03
It is possible to get free online access to UNIX or to OpenVMS

Rate and Review This Site
Show All Reviews

Stats

Daily Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 319.9 447.6 0.0 0.0 3.6 3.9
Today 240 337 0 0 1 1
Yesterday 393 545 0 0 5 5
August 02 216 333 0 0 3 3
August 01 208 296 0 0 2 3
July 31 353 527 0 0 1 2
July 30 415 529 0 0 3 3
July 29 396 553 0 0 6 6
July 28 398 503 0 0 5 6
July 27 378 502 0 0 6 6
July 26 202 351 0 0 4 4
Highest 1,501 3,136 5 10 38 140
Weekly Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 2,148.4 3,100.6 0.5 0.5 22.0 23.7
This Week 633 882 0 0 6 6
Last Week 2,364 3,243 0 0 26 29
Week 30 2,246 3,223 0 0 24 24
Week 29 2,358 3,332 1 1 30 32
Week 28 2,347 3,472 1 1 21 24
Week 27 2,322 3,259 0 0 22 24
Week 26 2,294 3,370 1 1 21 22
Week 25 2,466 3,753 1 1 23 26
Week 24 2,569 3,727 1 1 26 27
Week 23 1,885 2,745 0 0 21 23
Highest 3,903 12,142 15 38 106 311
Monthly Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 10,972.2 15,744.7 2.9 3.1 97.8 104.2
This Month 1,057 1,511 0 0 11 12
Last Month 10,383 14,734 2 2 113 122
June 20 10,044 14,761 3 3 96 103
May 20 11,558 17,455 6 7 117 123
April 20 15,544 22,383 5 5 119 124
March 20 13,985 19,698 1 2 108 111
February 20 12,341 17,707 3 3 99 105
January 20 11,948 16,841 1 1 100 113
December 19 10,709 14,996 5 5 107 117
November 19 12,153 17,361 3 3 108 112
Highest 15,544 41,395 54 134 379 914
Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Overall 778,707 1,200,777 730 954 16,228 27,907