Polarhome


Polarhome

Info


Username: polarhome
Description: polarhome.com is a non commercial, educational effort for popularization of shell enabled operating systems and Internet services, offering shell accounts, development environment, mail and other online services on all available systems (currently on different flavours of Linux, OpenVMS, Solaris, OpenIndiana, AIX, QNX, IRIX, HP-UX, Tru64, SCO OpenServer, UnixWare, FreeBSD, OpenBSD, NetBSD, DragonFly/BSD, MirBSD, Ultrix, Minix, GNU Hurd and OPENSTEP ). Since year 2000, polarhome.com became a demo site for Linux power and other Unix like systems popularization; unique multi-platform open source development realm and symbol for online freedom, feelings and other activities. ####FEATURES#### 30+ servers to choose from, IPv4/IPv6 access, 250+Mbps uplink, IRC, valid ident response with oidentd, eggdrop, 10 bg jobs, screen, own home page space, PHP, perl and python CGI, MySQL database, POP3 IMAP and webmail, telnet ssh and ftp access, Usermin admin panel, C/C++ and many other compilers
URL: http://www.polarhome.com/
Category: Free Shells
Member Since: 2009-11-29

Average Rating: 4 / 5
Number of Ratings: 54
4/5

Reviews


2016-12-28 23:14:19
Not Free at all, for shell access, please change label to paid shell, obviously its usefull becuz it has a lot of os but still misleading, its not free

2016-07-28 21:15:57
This is not just a way to get a shell account - for any developer wanting to compile and test on an a wide range of Unix(-like) system this is the *only* way. Thanks Zoltán!

2016-05-15 18:31:05
I really like this service as tries to provide free service for all with the aim for free educative tool for all societies.
It tries to balance the amount of knowledge in world.
It's really good tool specially for poor ppl of world (like my country) who are not wealthy enough to buy such systems :)

God Bless them

2015-12-05 00:40:50
Only one with cheap AIX and HP-UX shell

2015-05-23 20:24:06
Amazing, how many different systems are online?

2015-05-13 08:20:04
I love reading man pages for all those exotic operating systems. Wonder where have they collect them all?

2015-03-27 12:29:30
Seems, polarhome provides not just the biggest diversity of shell access systems, but the larges collection of man pages too. I have counted more than 50 operating systems. Great job, guys.

2014-10-28 19:35:57
I love this website - its so usefull and helpfull.

2014-09-30 14:21:01
The whole classroom can get accounts on any server. These guys are crazy :) The best shell on the net.

2014-09-16 13:13:22
I have been a member for several years and I have always received the support I needed from the community. I am quite happy with it.

2014-06-13 10:36:04
I am impressed by the amount of help and documtation pages. The site not just provides shell access for the developers but it is a fantastic place to learn some new operating system.

2014-05-22 16:41:02
Amazing, how many different systems are online

2014-03-30 20:40:45
30+ different systems online - it is simply amazing.

2011-09-06 18:18:33
3 weeks or so ago their site was up and I sent them the required 10 local currency units (gbp10) last week with the application form and now their site is down. I hope that gbp10 hasn't just gone down the swanee.

2010-12-21 01:41:31
Maybe the 2USD may seem "not free" but for having access to this range of operating systems, well it is 'free' for me. Good choice IMHO.

2010-04-07 03:26:25
Unfortunatelly you need to donate at least 2 USD for registering for the "free" service.
In this manner, its not a free provider anymore.

(Dear Webmaster, please remove this provider from the list, if its possible, since literally its not a free one anymore.)

2009-12-01 15:12:03
It is possible to get free online access to UNIX or to OpenVMS

Rate and Review This Site
Show All Reviews

Stats

Daily Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 324.9 445.6 0.0 0.0 4.8 5.1
Today 396 494 0 0 2 2
Yesterday 209 364 0 0 4 4
May 18 177 273 0 0 4 4
May 17 357 507 0 0 6 6
May 16 438 593 0 0 5 5
May 15 413 536 0 0 7 7
May 14 409 548 0 0 7 7
May 13 405 522 0 0 8 10
May 12 223 329 0 0 2 3
May 11 222 290 0 0 3 3
Highest 1,501 3,136 5 10 38 140
Weekly Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 2,304.1 3,131.3 0.3 0.3 24.2 26.5
This Week 396 494 0 0 2 2
Last Week 2,408 3,343 0 0 41 43
Week 19 2,586 3,562 0 0 29 30
Week 18 2,487 3,245 1 1 29 32
Week 17 2,546 3,434 0 0 18 22
Week 16 2,328 3,173 0 0 19 22
Week 15 2,619 3,489 1 1 29 31
Week 14 2,688 3,776 0 0 25 28
Week 13 2,728 3,789 1 1 26 27
Week 12 2,255 3,008 0 0 24 28
Highest 3,903 12,142 15 38 106 311
Monthly Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 9,245.2 13,384.7 1.1 1.2 105.7 119.8
This Month 7,030 9,563 1 1 89 93
Last Month 11,028 14,953 1 1 103 117
March 19 11,224 15,865 1 1 112 124
February 19 9,194 13,849 2 3 98 110
January 19 10,369 16,002 4 4 112 120
December 18 9,205 13,308 2 2 115 129
November 18 8,696 13,201 0 0 101 110
October 18 8,688 12,802 0 0 105 129
September 18 8,187 11,584 0 0 124 151
August 18 8,831 12,720 0 0 98 115
Highest 15,147 41,395 54 134 379 914
Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Overall 606,531 956,942 685 907 14,711 26,288