Polarhome


Polarhome

Info


Username: polarhome
Description: polarhome.com is a non commercial, educational effort for popularization of shell enabled operating systems and Internet services, offering shell accounts, development environment, mail and other online services on all available systems (currently on different flavours of Linux, OpenVMS, Solaris, OpenIndiana, AIX, QNX, IRIX, HP-UX, Tru64, SCO OpenServer, UnixWare, FreeBSD, OpenBSD, NetBSD, DragonFly/BSD, MirBSD, Ultrix, Minix, GNU Hurd and OPENSTEP ).rnrnSince year 2000, polarhome.com became a demo site for Linux power and other Unix like systems popularization; unique multi-platform open source development realm and symbol for online freedom, feelings and other activities.rnrn####FEATURES#### 30+ servers to choose from, IPv4/IPv6 access, 250+Mbps uplink, IRC, valid ident response with oidentd, eggdrop, 10 bg jobs, screen, own home page space, PHP, perl and python CGI, MySQL database, POP3 IMAP and webmail, telnet ssh and ftp access, Usermin admin panel, C/C++ and many other compilers
URL: http://www.polarhome.com/
Category: Free Shells
Member Since: 2009-11-29

Average Rating: 5 / 5
Number of Ratings: 119
5/5

Reviews


2016-12-28 23:14:19
Not Free at all, for shell access, please change label to paid shell, obviously its usefull becuz it has a lot of os but still misleading, its not free

2016-07-28 21:15:57
This is not just a way to get a shell account - for any developer wanting to compile and test on an a wide range of Unix(-like) system this is the *only* way. Thanks Zoltán!

2016-05-15 18:31:05
I really like this service as tries to provide free service for all with the aim for free educative tool for all societies.
It tries to balance the amount of knowledge in world.
It's really good tool specially for poor ppl of world (like my country) who are not wealthy enough to buy such systems :)

God Bless them

2015-12-05 00:40:50
Only one with cheap AIX and HP-UX shell

2015-05-23 20:24:06
Amazing, how many different systems are online?

2015-05-13 08:20:04
I love reading man pages for all those exotic operating systems. Wonder where have they collect them all?

2015-03-27 12:29:30
Seems, polarhome provides not just the biggest diversity of shell access systems, but the larges collection of man pages too. I have counted more than 50 operating systems. Great job, guys.

2014-10-28 19:35:57
I love this website - its so usefull and helpfull.

2014-09-30 14:21:01
The whole classroom can get accounts on any server. These guys are crazy :) The best shell on the net.

2014-09-16 13:13:22
I have been a member for several years and I have always received the support I needed from the community. I am quite happy with it.

2014-06-13 10:36:04
I am impressed by the amount of help and documtation pages. The site not just provides shell access for the developers but it is a fantastic place to learn some new operating system.

2014-05-22 16:41:02
Amazing, how many different systems are online

2014-03-30 20:40:45
30+ different systems online - it is simply amazing.

2011-09-06 18:18:33
3 weeks or so ago their site was up and I sent them the required 10 local currency units (gbp10) last week with the application form and now their site is down. I hope that gbp10 hasn't just gone down the swanee.

2010-12-21 01:41:31
Maybe the 2USD may seem "not free" but for having access to this range of operating systems, well it is 'free' for me. Good choice IMHO.

2010-04-07 03:26:25
Unfortunatelly you need to donate at least 2 USD for registering for the "free" service.
In this manner, its not a free provider anymore.

(Dear Webmaster, please remove this provider from the list, if its possible, since literally its not a free one anymore.)

2009-12-01 15:12:03
It is possible to get free online access to UNIX or to OpenVMS

Rate and Review This Site
Show All Reviews

Stats

Daily Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 387.0 519.7 0.0 0.0 0.6 0.6
Today 333 587 0 0 1 1
Yesterday 459 574 0 0 0 0
October 20 484 637 0 0 0 0
October 19 471 561 0 0 1 1
October 18 449 587 0 0 1 1
October 17 227 307 0 0 1 1
October 16 206 289 0 0 1 1
October 15 384 513 0 0 0 0
October 14 451 600 0 0 0 0
October 13 406 542 0 0 1 1
Highest 1,501 4,572 5 10 38 140
Weekly Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 2,721.1 4,942.6 0.4 0.4 9.2 9.7
This Week 2,196 2,946 0 0 3 3
Last Week 2,548 3,535 0 0 3 3
Week 40 2,689 3,731 0 0 11 13
Week 39 2,688 3,993 0 0 11 11
Week 38 2,897 4,600 0 0 10 12
Week 37 3,103 5,856 0 0 11 12
Week 36 3,940 11,591 2 2 13 13
Week 35 2,382 4,766 1 1 11 11
Week 34 2,595 4,317 0 0 7 7
Week 33 2,173 4,091 1 1 12 12
Highest 3,940 12,142 15 38 106 311
Monthly Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Average 10,589.9 16,118.3 2.4 2.4 33.8 37.4
This Month 8,250 11,325 0 0 21 23
Last Month 13,729 28,884 2 2 52 55
August 21 10,753 19,512 3 3 43 47
July 21 9,187 12,899 2 2 43 47
June 21 7,554 10,662 0 0 45 49
May 21 9,017 12,480 3 3 44 57
April 21 11,444 15,360 3 3 22 23
March 21 11,993 16,652 2 2 21 22
February 21 12,091 17,169 3 3 28 31
January 21 11,881 16,240 6 6 19 20
Highest 15,544 41,395 54 134 379 914
Unique PVs Total PVs Unique In Total In Unique Out Total Out
Overall 935,059 1,434,467 768 992 16,914 28,847